A Shared Blog

Yesterday my cousin Jenny, shared a blog with me because she thought I would “dig it”; and I did!  It got the creative juices moving, since my focus has been else where, they haven’t been moving much.  Just now, I found myself thinking about one of the projects on the blog that I saw and wondered if my husband had any old jeans he didn’t mind me cutting up.  It also reminds me of many years ago of another project I did with a pair of old jeans.

When we first started a family my husband and I, we didn’t have much money and I was home taking care of our first son who was not even a year at this point.  I don’t know if it was out of need or needing a project at the time, but I decided to make our son a pair of overalls with snaps for the legs to change diapers easy.  Using a pair of old jeans that turned into cut offs by the time I was done, I used the legs of the jeans to make the overalls.  I even used a back pocket on the front of the bib.  I didn’t have a sewing machine at the time and no real thread to use; so I used what I had, wool thread.  Believe it or not, the overalls turned out pretty good and they were my son’s second pair of Levy’s; the first Levy’s were bibs that my brother and his wife sent us when our son was first born.

Jeans are such a stable in most wardrobes and with a bit of creativity can be used a second time once they become too worn.  I wonder if Levy Strauss even thought about it when he first put his jeans on the market.  But he might be happy to know that a lot of his jeans and other brands as well get recycled.

When someone shares a blog with me, I am always happy to check it out.  Why?  Because some of the best ideas often belong to  somebody else.  Which is okay, because its the spin that you put on it that makes it yours.  Ideas aren’t for stealing, they are for sharing, is the way I see it and to give credit where credit is due.  If the idea came from somewhere else, I give credit to the source; it’s only fair.  And there is so much creativity out there, so many creative people who are generous with their ideas.

In August I plan to get creative again, we have been working on home projects and planning a vacation that I have been too preoccupied to work on any projects of my own.  But like I said, the blog that my cousin Jenny shared with me got the creative juices flowing again and I can’t wait to get my tools out and make something!

Thanks Jenny for sharing the blog site with me!   ♥

http://dishfunctionaldesigns.blogspot.com/

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pillowsalamode
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 10:18:52

    Now I’m intrigued and want to read the blog! :) Can you post a link? Thank you! :)

    Reply

  2. Julie Church
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 10:41:25

    Sorry for the oversight, I meant to post the site I was talking about. I have added it at the end of my blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

